Kagawa Roads of Shikoku

Goshikidai pilgrimage road

Goshikidai pilgrimage road

This course links together three sites on the Shikoku Pilgrimage, Sanuki Kokubunji Temple (number 80), Shiromineji Temple (number 81), and Negoroji Temple (number 82).Each season here features something wonderful.

Goshikidai pilgrimage road (17.2 km)


Spots to photograph

Signboard of “Jyukyucho”

If you wish to receive a certificate, please take a photo that includes yourself at the designated photo point for each course.

Nearby sightseeing spots

  • 1
    Shiromineji Temple

    Shiromineji Temple’s honorific mountain name is Ryoshozan.It is the 81st site on the pilgrimage.Located in an area laden with large trees, the temple precincts are enveloped in an atmosphere of delicate beauty and are home to many Buddhist statues and halls including the Hondo, Kondo, Daishido, Amidado, and other pavilions.In addition, the great momi fir trees that grow here, tower above the rest. These trees are designated as preserved trees by the prefecture.

  • Ashio Daimyojin Shrine

    Known affectionately as “Ashibasan”, it is famous as the home of a god said to cure foot ailments.

  • 3
    Negoroji Temple

    Negoroji Temple’s honorific mountain name is Aominesan.It is the 82nd site on the pilgrimage.The place features magnificence of fresh and green spring colors as well as the changing colors of autumn.And who knows? You might just encounter the legendary Ushi-oni monster.

  • 4
    Kokubunji Temple

    Kokubunji Temple’s honorific mountain name is Hakugyuzan.It is the 80th site on the pilgrimage.Many of the foundation stones of the Kondo (main hall) and the pagoda, which are designated as special historical sites remain in the precincts of the temple, reminding us of the time when the temple was established.

Special System to recognize The Roads of Shikoku travelers

Travelers who have completed a prefectural route
Under this system, a certificate is issued to everyone who has completed all the routes of the The Roads of Shikoku on foot in a single prefecture.
If you wish to receive this certificate, please take a photo of yourself (the applicant) at the designated photo checkpoints (the mark for photo checkpoints) along each route. After gathering the required photos for all the routes, write a simple comment on your thoughts regarding the route on each photo as well as your address, full name, age, and the dates on which the photos along the route were taken, and submit them to the representative for the prefecture where the route is found.
After reviewing your application, we will issue you a certificate for having completed the prefectural course.
Travelers who have completed all routes in Shikoku
If you have completed all the routes in the four prefectures of Shikoku, please submit your certificate for each of the four prefectures to the representative for any prefecture.
After reviewing your application, we will issue you a certificate for having completed all routes in Shikoku.

Click here to contact the representative for each prefecture

Ehime Prefecture / Kagawa Prefecture / Tokushima Prefecture / Kochi Prefecture