Tokushima Roads of Shikoku

Yamazato Road

Yamazato Road

From the prefectural border, climb the mountain path to reach the Osaka Pass Viewing Platform.You can see a sweeping view of the deep blue Setonai Sea from the viewing platform.Upon re-entering the mountain path, you will see the path paved with stones.In the past, people traveling to and from the capital or between the old territories of Awa and Sanuki would walk along this road. Because it was so important for the commutation at the time, the path was paved with stones and remains so to this day.When you walk down the pass, you will see a village as you near the mandarin orange orchards nestled between the mountains.At the entrance to the village, you will be greeted by the sight of the ruins of the old guard station, hinting nostalgically of the importance this place used to have to the traffic that traveled through here.

Yamazato Road (8.4 km)


Spots to photograph

Signpost near the Kagawa Prefecture Border

If you wish to receive a certificate, please take a photo that includes yourself at the designated photo point for each course.

Nearby sightseeing spots

  • 1
    Final Point of Shikoku Road

    The entire "Shikoku Road" covers 1,600 kilometers, and Inubushi is the final point of the road.Located near the endpoint of the road, the mountain behind Suwa Shrine once had a large-scale burial mound that was one of the biggest in the prefecture.The entertaining legend of “Zen ya Wan wo Kariru”, which is written in the book of Japanese legends “Awa no Maki” is also said to be originated from here.

  • 2
    Gakyou Mound of Zozadani

    In the mixed forest of Zozadani lie the prefectural spot of ruins of the gakyou mound.The gakyou were tiles engraved with Buddhist sutras in the late Heian period. Fearing the decline of Buddhism (according to the “pessimism due to decadent age theory”), someone buried the tiles at this spot in the late Heian period.The tiles excavated from the site bear an engraving from 1109 (Year 2 of the Tennin era), and are engraved with sutras as the Lotus Sutra, making them the oldest tile epigraphs in the prefecture.

  • 3
    Itanocho History and Culture Park

    Built in a hilly area of Itano Town, this lush, green park is an excellent spot for a picnic.The park includes a cultural building with a library and a cultural hall as well as a road-themed Sai no Kan building.The park also serves as a venue for a festival that features the imaginary Itanosaurus dinosaur, the Guto no Go that recreates pit houses and stilt houses, and the Gokoku square that recreates a Daruma kiln.

  • 4
    Ruins of Osaka Kuchio Guard Station

    Among the guard stations the Tokushima Clan once held, the Osaka entrance guard station that once stood in this place was considered the most important checkpoint.For roughly 230 years between the year it was built in 1644 (year 1 of the Shoho era) and its demolition in 1872 (year 5 of the Meiji era), the guards here oversaw the coming and going of passers-by and goods.

  • 5
    Osaka Pass Viewing Platform

    This roughly 400 meter-high platform is located at the northernmost point of Itanocho, and offers a splendid view of Setonaikai National Park.In 1950, the area between the Osaka Pass and Setonai Sea was designated as the Setonaikai National Park. Since 1957, the park is protected as a special area and the use is subject to rules and regulations.

Special System to recognize The Roads of Shikoku travelers

Travelers who have completed a prefectural route
Under this system, a certificate is issued to everyone who has completed all the routes of the The Roads of Shikoku on foot in a single prefecture.
If you wish to receive this certificate, please take a photo of yourself (the applicant) at the designated photo checkpoints (the mark for photo checkpoints) along each route. After gathering the required photos for all the routes, write a simple comment on your thoughts regarding the route on each photo as well as your address, full name, age, and the dates on which the photos along the route were taken, and submit them to the representative for the prefecture where the route is found.
After reviewing your application, we will issue you a certificate for having completed the prefectural course.
Travelers who have completed all routes in Shikoku
If you have completed all the routes in the four prefectures of Shikoku, please submit your certificate for each of the four prefectures to the representative for any prefecture.
After reviewing your application, we will issue you a certificate for having completed all routes in Shikoku.

Click here to contact the representative for each prefecture

Ehime Prefecture / Kagawa Prefecture / Tokushima Prefecture / Kochi Prefecture