Kochi Roads of Shikoku

Akatsuchitouge Shishi Dappan Route

Akatsuchitouge Shishi Dappan Route

This course begins at the eastern entrance to the Naumann Karst and proceeds south, passing JR Togano Station, then north along the Yanasegawa River, a tributary of the Niyodogawa river, to National Highway 494, and then back to National Highway 494 after passing Akatsuchitouge, where Dappan Shishi Shugou-no-chi is located. Dappan Shishi Shugou-no-chi is where the nine Tosa-Sagawa Shinnoto loyalists, including Tetsui Hashimoto, Dairoku Ike, Osuke Ihara, Morima Nasu and Tatsuya Hamada (later Lord Mitsuaki Tanaka) gathered at Akado Pass and began their journey to secede from the feudal government. Tatsuya Hamada (later Lord Mitsuaki Tanaka) who studied under Zuizan Takeichi later fought alongside Shinsaku Takasugi of the Choshu domain against the Shogunate's Shogunate conquerors.

Akatsuchitouge Shishi Dappan Route(11.5km)


Spots to photograph

Stone monument of “Dappan Shishi Shugou-no-chi ”

If you wish to receive a certificate, please take a photo that includes yourself at the designated photo point for each course.

Nearby sightseeing spots

  • 1
    Dappan Shishi Shugou-no-chi

    On August 14, 1864, five Sakawa loyalists, including Tatsuya Hamada (Mitsuaki Tanaka), who had gathered at the site, were so fired up by their desire to defeat the loyalists that they escaped over Kuromoriyama to Boshumitajiri, and were active in royal affairs.

Special System to recognize The Roads of Shikoku travelers

Travelers who have completed a prefectural route
Under this system, a certificate is issued to everyone who has completed all the routes of the The Roads of Shikoku on foot in a single prefecture.
If you wish to receive this certificate, please take a photo of yourself (the applicant) at the designated photo checkpoints (the mark for photo checkpoints) along each route. After gathering the required photos for all the routes, write a simple comment on your thoughts regarding the route on each photo as well as your address, full name, age, and the dates on which the photos along the route were taken, and submit them to the representative for the prefecture where the route is found.
After reviewing your application, we will issue you a certificate for having completed the prefectural course.
Travelers who have completed all routes in Shikoku
If you have completed all the routes in the four prefectures of Shikoku, please submit your certificate for each of the four prefectures to the representative for any prefecture.
After reviewing your application, we will issue you a certificate for having completed all routes in Shikoku.

Click here to contact the representative for each prefecture

Ehime Prefecture / Kagawa Prefecture / Tokushima Prefecture / Kochi Prefecture