Kochi Roads of Shikoku

Route to Yachi and Sakawa

Route to Yachi and Sakawa

This is the starting route of a course that branches off from the Shikoku Loop Course and passes inland to Ehime Prefecture. This route passes through the village forest of the village of Hidaka, Tosa, and Sakawa. Visitors will be able to easily see the beauty of the formations created by nature, such as the Saruda-do Cave in Hidaka and the Naumann Karst in Sakawa. Visitors can also enjoy many historical landscapes and historic sites along the route, such as the Niomon Gate at the site of Hokke-ji Temple in Tosa and the streets of Sakawa, where botanist Tomitaro Makino was born and raised.

Route to Yachi and Sakawa(16.2km)


Spots to photograph

Place name board of “Sakawa Naumann Karst”

If you wish to receive a certificate, please take a photo that includes yourself at the designated photo point for each course.

Nearby sightseeing spots

  • 1
    Hachimangu Shrine Castle

    It was relocated as Hachiman Castle when Toki Castle Lord Beppu Hikokuro built the castle in 1329. The Hanatori Tachi Odori dance, dedicated to the autumn festival on October 15, has been designated an Intangible Folk Cultural Asset of the prefecture.

  • 2
    Saruda-do Cave

    This limestone cave, 1,400 m long, is inhabited by bats, juvenile fish, and other sightless vestigial animals. The cave's course is a relatively easy 150 meters, and is fun and thrilling because it has not been modified much beyond the hanging of steel plate bridges and ladders. Be sure to wear clothes that can get dirty, carry a flashlight, and refrain from entering the cave alone.

  • 3
    Sakawa Naumann Karst Rest Area

    This is a smaller-scale karst with a dense exposure of peculiarly shaped limestone rocks, which is rare even in the prefecture. The name Naumann was given in 1986 in honor of Edmund Naumann, a German geologist who introduced Sakawa to the world as a treasure house of geological research in the middle of the Meiji period.

  • 4
    Sakagura no machi (sake-producing area)

    Sake breweries and stores from the end of the feudal era still remain.

  • 5
    Wooden Kongorikishi guardian statues

    These statues of Kongorikishi have been handed down as the Niou statues of Yatsuji Hokkeji Temple, and now only the Nioumon gate and two statues remain. The artwork has the characteristics of the Kamakura period and is made of Hannoki wood. The artist is unknown, but it was reportedly made by Unkei.

  • 6
    Makino Park

    This is a cherry blossom viewing spot named in honor of Tomitaro Makino, and in spring, the entire mountain is covered with cherry blossoms, attracting many cherry blossom-viewing visitors. From the observation deck, visitors can enjoy a panoramic view of the city.

  • 7

    The Sango (honorific mountain name prefixed to a temple's name) Ryufuchiyama is a famous Zen temple founded in 1603 as a ancenstral temple of the Sakawa Ryoushufukao family. It is one of the three most famous gardens in Tosa, along with Jodaiji Temple and Chikurinji Temple.

Special System to recognize The Roads of Shikoku travelers

Travelers who have completed a prefectural route
Under this system, a certificate is issued to everyone who has completed all the routes of the The Roads of Shikoku on foot in a single prefecture.
If you wish to receive this certificate, please take a photo of yourself (the applicant) at the designated photo checkpoints (the mark for photo checkpoints) along each route. After gathering the required photos for all the routes, write a simple comment on your thoughts regarding the route on each photo as well as your address, full name, age, and the dates on which the photos along the route were taken, and submit them to the representative for the prefecture where the route is found.
After reviewing your application, we will issue you a certificate for having completed the prefectural course.
Travelers who have completed all routes in Shikoku
If you have completed all the routes in the four prefectures of Shikoku, please submit your certificate for each of the four prefectures to the representative for any prefecture.
After reviewing your application, we will issue you a certificate for having completed all routes in Shikoku.

Click here to contact the representative for each prefecture

Ehime Prefecture / Kagawa Prefecture / Tokushima Prefecture / Kochi Prefecture