Kagawa Roads of Shikoku

Denen no Michi

Denen no Michi

Denen no Michi is a peaceful trail that takes you through the mountain countryside, and there are two ups and downs for about 1 km along the way, but the rest of the trail is on flat land. It takes about 5 and a half hours to complete this trail at a leisurely pace while taking breaks. Minamino in Higashikagawa City (formerly Aioi Village, Okawa District, Kagawa Prefecture) is the hometown of Shizuko Kasagi, who was the model for the heroine in NHK's morning drama series "Boogie Woogie," which aired from October 2023.

Denen no Michi(15.2km)


Spots to photograph

Waramaike signpost

If you wish to receive a certificate, please take a photo that includes yourself at the designated photo point for each course.

Nearby sightseeing spots

  • 1
    Yodaji Temple (Yodaji)

    The temple's honorific mountain prefix is Iouzan Kokuzoin. It is said to have been established by Gyoki, a Buddhist monk, in Tenpyo 11 (739) (Nara period). It is designated as one of the 88 temples of the Shikoku Pilgrimage, and is widely known for being the "Temple to ward off evil and misfortune." In front of the gate stands a gigantic Muku tree that is over 600 years old and is a designated natural monument of Kagawa Prefecture. Moreover, there are many important cultural properties and national treasures on the temple grounds, and you can view them to experience their history and artistry.

  • 2
    Around Waramaike

    This area was a place where culture flourished in ancient times. The area around the pond is dotted with groups of Kofuns (ancient burial mounds) dating from the 4th to 7th centuries. Many pieces of Yayoi-style pottery have been unearthed in this area, indicating that it has long been prosperous, with powerful ruling families at its core. There is also a legend that during the Genpei Battle of Yashima, Minamoto No Yoshitsune passed through this area near Waramaike and attacked Yashima, where the Taira family was holed up.

  • 3
    Jokanji Temple (Jiyoukanji)

    It is said that this is where Kobo Daishi rested in those days when he was traveling the country to establish sacred sites in Shikoku.

  • 4
    Ishibiki Pond

    You will see the surrounding greenery reflected in the bluish water surface. The pond was completed in Showa 55 (1980) after a three-year construction period. It draws water for agricultural and water supply purposes from Kagawayousui, which channels water from Sameura Dam in Kochi Prefecture and Ikeda Dam in Tokushima Prefecture. You will be able to see many ducks resting their wings here in winter.

  • 5
    Sugar Industry Gratitude Monument

    The monument has been designated as a cultural asset by Higashikagawa City. In Minamino Aioi, Higashikagawa City, the production of Wasanbon sugar (refined Japanese sugar), which was once listed as one of the Sanuki Sanpaku (Three Sanuki Whites) (Sugar, Salt, Cotton), continues to be passed down as a traditional occupation. Because of this, you will find sugar cane fields dotted along the roads of Shikoku. This area is also known as the birthplace of Shigeru Nanbara, former president of the University of Tokyo, and Shizuko Kasagi, known as the Queen of boogie-woogie.

Special System to recognize The Roads of Shikoku travelers

Travelers who have completed a prefectural route
Under this system, a certificate is issued to everyone who has completed all the routes of the The Roads of Shikoku on foot in a single prefecture.
If you wish to receive this certificate, please take a photo of yourself (the applicant) at the designated photo checkpoints (the mark for photo checkpoints) along each route. After gathering the required photos for all the routes, write a simple comment on your thoughts regarding the route on each photo as well as your address, full name, age, and the dates on which the photos along the route were taken, and submit them to the representative for the prefecture where the route is found.
After reviewing your application, we will issue you a certificate for having completed the prefectural course.
Travelers who have completed all routes in Shikoku
If you have completed all the routes in the four prefectures of Shikoku, please submit your certificate for each of the four prefectures to the representative for any prefecture.
After reviewing your application, we will issue you a certificate for having completed all routes in Shikoku.

Click here to contact the representative for each prefecture

Ehime Prefecture / Kagawa Prefecture / Tokushima Prefecture / Kochi Prefecture