Kagawa Roads of Shikoku

The “Murmurs of the Streams” Route

The “Murmurs of the Streams” Route

This route brings you upstream along the valley and you can enjoy many changes in the surrounding landscape on your way across the sacred Nyotaisan mountain. You will also encounter Okuboji, the last of the 88 temples of the Shikoku Pilgrimage.

The “Murmurs of the Streams” Route(7.7km)


Spots to photograph

Nyotaisan(with the signboard at the summit)

If you wish to receive a certificate, please take a photo that includes yourself at the designated photo point for each course.

Nearby sightseeing spots

  • 1
    Okuboji Temple

    Okuboji Temple is No.88 of the wish-granting temples. People who have finished the Shikoku pilgrimage leave their bamboo hat and walking stick at the temple and start homeward. Surrounded by several large trees, it is a place with a quiet ambience and is designated as a nature preservation area of Nyotaisan.

  • 2
    Nyotaisan peak

    The most dangerous part of the course is a rare virgin forest that includes plants such as red hornbeam, Japanese whitebeam, kekuromoji and lindera obtusiloba. From the summit, all of the Tousan area can be viewed at once. The god of water is enshrined at Nyotai Shrine.

  • 3
    Kurusu ravine

    Kurusu ravine is beautiful with its water, greenery and rocks. Fish can be seen swimming in the clear water.

  • 4
    Maeyama dam

    Completed in 1975, it is a multi-purpose dam. The surrounding area has become a park, and there are water turbines that are reminiscent of the olden days.

  • 5
    Maeyama pilgrimage exchange salon

    It is a place for pilgrims to exchange information and interact with local residents. In the “Pilgrimage material exhibition room” within the salon, there are valuable materials displayed that will help you to feel the history of the Shikoku pilgrimage. These include travelogues and old maps from the Edo period, as well as name cards, ancient pilgrimage books, and old bills left over from pilgrimages made in the mid-Edo period.

Special System to recognize The Roads of Shikoku travelers

Travelers who have completed a prefectural route
Under this system, a certificate is issued to everyone who has completed all the routes of the The Roads of Shikoku on foot in a single prefecture.
If you wish to receive this certificate, please take a photo of yourself (the applicant) at the designated photo checkpoints (the mark for photo checkpoints) along each route. After gathering the required photos for all the routes, write a simple comment on your thoughts regarding the route on each photo as well as your address, full name, age, and the dates on which the photos along the route were taken, and submit them to the representative for the prefecture where the route is found.
After reviewing your application, we will issue you a certificate for having completed the prefectural course.
Travelers who have completed all routes in Shikoku
If you have completed all the routes in the four prefectures of Shikoku, please submit your certificate for each of the four prefectures to the representative for any prefecture.
After reviewing your application, we will issue you a certificate for having completed all routes in Shikoku.

Click here to contact the representative for each prefecture

Ehime Prefecture / Kagawa Prefecture / Tokushima Prefecture / Kochi Prefecture