What is The Roads of Shikoku?

The Roads of Shikoku (Shikoku Nature Trail) is a long nature trail that spans over 1545.6km. It begins in Naruto City of Tokushima Prefecture and ends in Itano-cho of Itano District in the same prefecture. This trail allows you to walk around Shikoku while having the chance to become acquainted with the sacred sites of Shikoku as well as the nature and historical sites scattered around the various regions.
The The Roads of Shikoku (Shikoku Nature Trail) in Ehime Prefecture brings you to the Seto Inland Sea where you can enjoy views of islands of various sizes, the Uwa Sea which has complex coastlines, and the beautiful nature of Shikoku Karst. It gives you the chance to explore the history and culture of Shikoku’s Pilgrimage Trail, old roads, and its shrines and temples. The entire trail comprises 33 different routes with a total length of 362.8km.

The Roads of Shikoku in different prefectures

Special System to recognize The Roads of Shikoku travelers

Travelers who have completed a prefectural route
Under this system, a certificate is issued to everyone who has completed all the routes of the The Roads of Shikoku on foot in a single prefecture.
If you wish to receive this certificate, please take a photo of yourself (the applicant) at the designated photo checkpoints (the mark for photo checkpoints) along each route. After gathering the required photos for all the routes, write a simple comment on your thoughts regarding the route on each photo as well as your address, full name, age, and the dates on which the photos along the route were taken, and submit them to the representative for the prefecture where the route is found.
After reviewing your application, we will issue you a certificate for having completed the prefectural course.
Travelers who have completed all routes in Shikoku
If you have completed all the routes in the four prefectures of Shikoku, please submit your certificate for each of the four prefectures to the representative for any prefecture.
After reviewing your application, we will issue you a certificate for having completed all routes in Shikoku.

Click here to contact the representative for each prefecture

Ehime Prefecture / Kagawa Prefecture / Tokushima Prefecture / Kochi Prefecture